Bavarian-Board.co.uk - BMW Owners Discussion Forum Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical & Model Specific Forums > BMW 7 Series
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Telephone kit ??
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Forum LockedTelephone kit ??

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
Darren View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 03-August-2003
Location: Great Britain
Status: Offline
Points: 16
Direct Link To This Post Topic: Telephone kit ??
    Posted: 03-August-2003 at 14:52

Hi

I have just purchased a 735i  E38. Picking it up on Friday 8th

Allready counting down the minutes

The car has the factory car phone kit fitted - but some clever dick has taken the actual phone. Does anyone know what model the phone was or know where I might be able to get one. I beleive it was a motorola phone but am unsure.

Back to Top
Sponsored Links


Back to Top
Nigel View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 09-November-2002
Status: Offline
Points: 6941
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03-August-2003 at 15:39
Darren
I would imagine being a BMW that you had the choice of at least 10 when the car was new!
I would suggest you contact a freindly main dealer, there are some.. quote the chassis number and they will be able to tell you exactly what the car was supplied with, and if it is still available.
Best Wishes

Nigel

Back to Top
Dave E View Drop Down
Senior Member II
Senior Member II


Joined: 27-November-2002
Location: Worcestershire
Status: Offline
Points: 173
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04-August-2003 at 09:08
Hi Darren,

I know the feeling. I had this problem when I purchased my 1994 E32 730 V8 about 4 years ago. I took note of the connections and trawled the phone shops looking for a phone that would fit. I was lucky to find that it was an Ericsson. When I sold the car a few months ago the installation looked to complicated to remove and fit into my E36 so I left it in the car.
I am looking forward to the big show at Gaydon on the 17th.

Regards

Dave E

Edited by Dave E
Back to Top
simonday View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 26-March-2003
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08-August-2003 at 21:13
Darren,

I own a 740i and bought it with an in car kit in. Is there any way I can change the network or phone number to the phone? because it has just sat in the car doing nothing.
If not then I am going to take the motorola phone out and would be prepared to sell it if you are interested?

Regards

Simon (manchester)
Back to Top
Darren View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 03-August-2003
Location: Great Britain
Status: Offline
Points: 16
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09-August-2003 at 15:13

Hi Simon,

 Still havent got the car yet, due to a dealer cock up

Hopefully be getting it Monday. When I`ll try and find out exactly what should be in the hole .

Im pretty sure it was a motorola - probably a startac - but according to other forums i`ve been reading it could be a 7000 / 8000 or 9000 ?? which all have different plugs etc.

If you know the model no of yours and it is suitable for my car then I probably will be interested !

Back to Top
Darren View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 03-August-2003
Location: Great Britain
Status: Offline
Points: 16
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18-August-2003 at 19:45

Finally got hold of a phone it was a Motorolla Startac V50.

Not a very brilliant phone - but works fantastically in the car.

Back to Top
ChewBakker View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 31-January-2004
Status: Offline
Points: 11
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19-February-2004 at 20:25

Simon,

 

Did you get your phone going?

 

Regards

 

John

Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.156 seconds.